Every school has a school council-a group focused on helping all students succeed.

School councils are groups of parents, community representatives, teaching and non-teaching employees, students and the school principal. Through the active participation of parents, school councils work to improve student achievement and enhance the accountability of the education system to parents.

Support for school councils is provided by the Simcoe County District School Board's Parent Involvement Committee.

Why join us on school council?

Involvement in school council is a meaningful, hands-on way to have a direct, positive impact on your child's educational experience. Research shows that when parents are involved in their child's education, the level of student achievement increases. While the below list is of the voting members on council, we welcome anyone who would like to come to our meetings and learn about council and take part.

East Oro School Council

Marny Shelswell (Co-Chair)

Tara McClenaghan (Co-Chair)

Jody Duck (Secretary)

Carmen Partridge (Treasurer)

Debbie Barnett (Non-Teaching

Paula Beech (Teaching

Jody Duck

Amie Lavigne

Kim Harper

Amanda Burton

Naomi Belviso